A (partly) sunny day in Limerick! - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Inge Maathuis - WaarBenJij.nu A (partly) sunny day in Limerick! - Reisverslag uit Limerick, Ierland van Inge Maathuis - WaarBenJij.nu

A (partly) sunny day in Limerick!

Door: Inge

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Inge

30 Maart 2014 | Ierland, Limerick

I promised to tell you something about my travelling experiences and what better day to talk about that than today when the sun finally warms up this cold, cold town. There is al lot to discover on this green island and after a few trips there is still plenty left unseen. So where have I been?

My first little expedition was by bicycle as I am still Dutch. I cycled up to this little village just below Limerick city, called Adare. Being only 15 kilometres away, it was a very pleasant but short trip. The old church, the ruins besides the river Maigue and the beautifully built Adare Manor were definitely worth seeing!

Furthermore I spent a weekend in Temple bar, Dublin when my boyfriend came over to visit me. We had the best time in this very vibrant (and touristy) part of Dublin. We went to see the Guinness Storehouse with its very impressive view from the Gravity bar on the 7th floor and learned quite a bit about Irelands precious Guinness. There are many other attractions in the capital worth seeing such as the Saint Patrick’s Cathedral, the Kilmainham Gaol (jail) with its devastating cultural past, The actual Temple Bar and last but not least of course vintage markets.

As a member of the International society at Mary I, I got the opportunity to go on a guided daytrip to Dingle. We had our on bus (and amazing bus driver) for the day and we loaded in 50 international students. It felt like going on a school trip and it was so much fun. After arrival in Dingle we went on this boat trip and got to see a real life dolphin in the ocean! The dolphin, named Fungi, was born at the Dingle aquarium (which we also visited) and was eventually set free in the ocean where it simply stuck around . On our way back we stopped at this amazing pub where we got to draw our own pint of Guinness and were able to drink it on the nearby beach. It was a beautiful day filled with beautiful people.

One of my latest adventures was last Friday. I went hitch-hiking with a friend that I met through David. We started off in Limerick and hitched to Tipperary, Cashel, Cork and back to Limerick in one day. Even though no one hitch-hikes anymore, it still is pretty easy to do. Apart from the hitch out of Cashel it only took us 5-20 minutes to find a ride. In Cashel we went to see the Rock of Cashel which was insanely beautiful. We didn’t spend that long in each town/city but the rides were to me one of the best things I’ve experienced in a while. The people that picked us up were so friendly and especially our ride from Cork to Limerick was so much fun. We discussed politics, travelling the world and many other things with our young driver (who was a journalist). All in all it was a very adventurous day.
I made this little list with places that I still need to see before I go and in my next blog I can hopefully report on some of them. The list contains:
- Galway
- Belfast
- Londonderry
- Donegal
- Fota Wild Life Park
- Bunratty Castle
- Cliffs of Moher

And probably a few more. Thanks so much for reading, I do hope you found it enjoyable.
Slán go fóill (bye for now)

  • 10 April 2014 - 16:58

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Inge, you'll have stay another few months if you're really set on visiting all those places..... enjoy, Ireland is wonderful isn't it? greetz, Jan

  • 08 Mei 2014 - 09:44

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Inge, enjoy your last weeks (?) in Limerick, greetz, Jan

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Ierland, Limerick

Inge

Actief sinds 03 Maart 2014
Verslag gelezen: 1055
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2923

Voorgaande reizen:

22 Januari 2014 - 16 Mei 2014

Semester in Éire

Landen bezocht: